On the road again! - Reisverslag uit Caïro, Egypte van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu On the road again! - Reisverslag uit Caïro, Egypte van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu

On the road again!

Door: Gerben

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gerben

23 Mei 2010 | Egypte, Caïro

Hello everyone!

So you might have noticed by now that a trip to China would not satisfy my hunger for adventure and curiosity for the world. It seems a few months at home was enough to recharge my batteries, as I am on the road again now, this time in Cairo, Egypt.

Where to, then? Well, the goal for my independent travels lies in Kenya, where I'll try to reach either Nairobi or Mt. Kenya, depending on which one is more convenient by the time I arrive. There I will meet up with a whole bunch of UCU student to participate in the UCU development field studies program. This lasts four weeks and will take us to 4 different places in Kenya, before we all split up for the second half of the program and go to our final destinations for the summer: our internship locations. I myself will be doing an internship at ZOA Refugee Care in Ethiopia, the Gambella Region to be precise. I'll be there around six weeks before flying (I know, boring...) back home.

That's it, in a nutshell. To get to Kenya in the first part will hopefully be a very interesting first part of my trip though, as I will be going there overland, through Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and finally Kenya. I hope to arrange my Sudanese visa today, and catch a night train to Aswan to make it to the weekly ferry that leaves tomorrow - the only way to enter Sudan from the North that does not involve an airplane.
From then on I'm very flexible, and I'll most likely attempt to hitchhike the rest of the way down. I'm fully aware though, that hitchhiking in Africa might be a little different than Europe and Asia, so I'll have to figure things out as I go. Of this figuring out I will gladly report to you here as often as I can, or as often as you will tolerate :P

With that I have to conclude, because the embassy opens in half an hour, so I have to get going. See ya!

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 07:31

    Celine:

    Can't believe you're flying home! How boring indeed. But the rest seems far from it... Good luck!

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 07:33

    Cecilia:

    Good luck crazy man!

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 07:47

    Phil Limonard:

    Hoi Gerben,
    Een goede reis gewenst en "be careful".
    Groet,
    Phil en Charles

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 09:01

    Hanneke:

    Goede reis!

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 11:04

    Joris:

    Wow Gerben, I didn't know you were gonna go at it again. Good luck! I'm looking forward to the stories!

  • 23 Mei 2010 - 13:15

    Pa:

    fijn te horen dat er gelukkig ook nog onverwachte dingen gebeuren.

  • 24 Mei 2010 - 19:32

    0ma Riet:

    Leuk om weer met je mee te leven Voorzichtig!!!!!

  • 11 Augustus 2010 - 23:35

    Stefano:

    Ben!! Hope to have you back in my police car one day, somewhere, on dusty roads..

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Gerben

Hitchhiking to Patagonia

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 694
Totaal aantal bezoekers 123045

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Oktober 2011 - 01 Augustus 2012

Vancouver Fever

22 Mei 2010 - 25 Augustus 2010

UCU in Africa

29 Juni 2009 - 15 Januari 2010

The Xiamen Express

11 Oktober 2007 - 23 December 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: