I've found a boat!!! and other stories... - Reisverslag uit Gibraltar, Gibraltar van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu I've found a boat!!! and other stories... - Reisverslag uit Gibraltar, Gibraltar van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu

I've found a boat!!! and other stories...

Door: Gerben

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gerben

24 Oktober 2011 | Gibraltar, Gibraltar

Hi everyone!

A bit later than I intended, sorry, here's the first update: I've made it down to Gibraltar, and have even found a captain willing to take me to the Canary Islands already! As usual, wonderful things happen when you're hitchhiking, this time including having a house that can really only be called a villa all to myself for one night in southern Spain, and being spontaneously hosted in Alicante by the girlfriend of the man that gave me a ride there!

I've really been taking it slow on this trip so far. No long days of being on the road, and with plenty of stops on the way. I've visited friends so far in Paris and Barcelona (where I celebrated my birthday), two nights each, and stayed in Carcassonne and Granada for two nights as well just to check out the sights. Those last two cities are really beautiful, so much so that even a broken tent stick in Carcassonne - I was camping near the offramp of the highway with some strong winds - couldn't really bring down my spirits.

Now I'm in Gibraltar, where I've been looking for boats since I arrived two days ago. The minor discomfort in finding out just a few minutes ago, while sitting here in the library, that my pants have just ripped right near the crotch (again!!) is thankfully largely overshadowed by the tremendous amount of luck I had in finding a boat this fast. Speaking to some other people looking for boats here yesterday (I was number five in the queue when I arrived here!!), one of them who had just found a boat told me he had been looking here for about 10 days, and he said that had been pretty fast.

Knowing this, I could hardly believe it when yesterday evening I had managed to secure myself a spot on a boat to the Canaries, largely by virtue of my French-English translation skills! We leave port either Thursday or Friday (according to the forecasts), because we still have to wait for good winds to blow is in the right direction. The trip should last about 9 days the captain estimated, so I'll definitely learn if I get seasick or not...

There is really a lot more I could tell about the things that happened on the way - especially the two stories I mentioned in the first paragraph, the wonderful people that I met that made them possible, and many other small and big things - but I'm sitting here looking left and right, hoping nobody's noticed the gaping hole in my pants yet, so I'm going to either get those fixed first, or buy myself a new pair.

The next story will probably be from the Canaries. Cheers all!

  • 24 Oktober 2011 - 15:25

    Laurens Bogaardt:

    9 dagen op een boot? Lange reis dan nog. Rust daar maar even goed uit in het zonnetje voordat je echt de halve wereld rond gaat. Held. Ga zo door!

  • 24 Oktober 2011 - 16:35

    Celine:

    Haha, succes met die broek! En met de reis natuurlijk, maar daar heb ik alle vertrouwen in.

  • 24 Oktober 2011 - 17:41

    Jeroen:

    Lekker bezig, ben jaloers!

  • 24 Oktober 2011 - 20:34

    Marius En Marjoleine:

    Als meer mensen dit gaan doen, kunnen de reisburo's wel sluiten. Je kunt natuurlijk altijd nog een reisburo openen.... We zijn benieuwd naar foto's en verdere verslagen. Wellicht voor je vertrekt nog? En weet je uit welke wolken wind en uit welke regen komt? En reven zolang het kan.. Dit is het advies van je vader.En van je moeder een dikke tuut.

  • 25 Oktober 2011 - 20:42

    Pap:

    ik probeerde je wat extra fotoruimte te sturen maar zag dat je voorlopig nog 150 foto's kwijt kunt. Begin daar maar eens mee. kunnen we lekker meereizen.

  • 31 Oktober 2011 - 18:15

    Ekko:

    He Piet Hein, ben je nou alweer je camera kwijt? Je hebt nou toch wel een paar records gebroken hoor. Dit was vast de snelste lift ooit voor iemand gekleed in alleen een natte onderbroek. En je had de locatie toch ook niet echt mee, zo midden in de Atlantische oceaan. Anyway, we zijn hier allemaal erg blij dat ze voor je stopten.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Gerben

Hitchhiking to Patagonia

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 429
Totaal aantal bezoekers 123902

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Oktober 2011 - 01 Augustus 2012

Vancouver Fever

22 Mei 2010 - 25 Augustus 2010

UCU in Africa

29 Juni 2009 - 15 Januari 2010

The Xiamen Express

11 Oktober 2007 - 23 December 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: