A bit of rest - Reisverslag uit Bremen, Duitsland van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu A bit of rest - Reisverslag uit Bremen, Duitsland van Gerben Nap - WaarBenJij.nu

A bit of rest

Door: Gerben

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gerben

09 Juni 2008 | Duitsland, Bremen

It´s been three days already since you´ve last heard of me. The day before yesterday I got up in Lingen, got dressed in my cycling shorts and shirt, but upon inspecting my bicycle found that after cycling 200km with luggage that was a bit too heavy for it and roads that were not always smooth, both the wheels were no longer straight. I had noticed this a little the day before when the mechanic pointed it out to me, but I only really felt it when I cycled to a lake nearby the evening before. It was dark then, so I couldn´t really see it, but now with daylight it was quite clear.

I could of course still cycle with these wheels, it would just make it a bit more difficult. Because my legs and ass were really not looking forward to 150km of cycling that day - and to be quite frank, neither was I - I decided then and there that I would leave the bike for what it was and continue hitchhiking. At least, after I had given my body a few days rest. So that evening I took a train to Bremen, where I am now.

Here I´ve been relaxing a bit with really cool people, watching the European championships of course, with a beer or two. I´ve been a bit around neighbourhood and today I plan to go into the city centre to see what Bremen is like. Tonight we´ll watch the game Netherlands against Italy, and I´ve persuaded all the Germans to cheer for the Netherlands. This is, quite clearly, a historical, unprecedented achievement.

Tomorrow I plan to hitchhike to Hamburg and to stay there until Friday. On Friday I will finally hitchhike to Greifswald, where I will visit GrIStuF, the Greifswald International Student Festival. This will be going on for about a week.

I left my bicycle in Lingen where I will, at some point, pick it up again. It will of course serve perfectly as a student bike in the city. Sadly, the cycling part of my trip has thus come to an end. Luckily, now I can start hitchhiking again, which is also a lot of fun, and much, much easier, as I´ve found out now.

  • 09 Juni 2008 - 12:50

    Maaike:

    Jammer hoor, had nog wel wat fiets-ellende willen lezen... ;-) (je brengt het leuk namelijk)
    Maar veel succes met liften dan maar!

  • 09 Juni 2008 - 13:28

    Marjoleine:

    jammer, maar misschien krijg je nog een lift van een fietser(met jouw geluk)

  • 09 Juni 2008 - 17:30

    Wendy:

    Tsjonge... nu al opgegeven en met je oude stiel van het liften verder ;). Nu weet je in ieder geval zeker dat je Rusland gaat halen, das ook wel zo positief. Als je mn roze stift nog nodig hebt, dan hoor ik het wel.
    Veel plezier! En oja, je broer heeft een baan!!
    x
    Wendy

  • 09 Juni 2008 - 19:03

    Pa:

    had je nu maar een spaaksleutel gehad hè? Dan had je volprofessioneel de slagen uit je wiel gesleuteld. Daarna hadden je billen en benen ook voldoende rust gehad want dat duurt wel even voordat zo'n wiel weer recht is. Maar ja dan heb ook wat, nietwaar? Ik ben eigenlijk wel benieuwd waar nu je fietstassen hangen. Loop je met je handen in je zij en hangen ze over je schouders? Of staan ze over je hoofd heen op je schouders en sta je zo ook een beetje uit de zon. Veel plezier en tot de volgende.

  • 12 Juni 2008 - 14:49

    Tess:

    he jammer gerben, ik vond t hele fiets idee erg gaaf, ookal leed je er enorm onder.hehe.

    veel plezier op dat festival en hebben de duitsers voor ons gejuicht? t was n mooie wedstrijd iig ^^
    x x best wishes

  • 18 Juni 2008 - 15:40

    Alexander:

    Hey Gerben, je bit of rest duurt wel erg lang nu. Laat eens iets van je horen!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Gerben

Hitchhiking to Patagonia

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 504
Totaal aantal bezoekers 122501

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Oktober 2011 - 01 Augustus 2012

Vancouver Fever

22 Mei 2010 - 25 Augustus 2010

UCU in Africa

29 Juni 2009 - 15 Januari 2010

The Xiamen Express

11 Oktober 2007 - 23 December 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: